opportunity to worry

Just the other day I noticed how we ignore the opportunities to be happy, and drag our self down with worries for trivial things.

My wife is pregnant; she went to see the doctor for her monthly checkup. I am sitting out side in the car and waiting for her to come back. Thinking all kind of thoughts, she was not doing very well for some time. We were worried; what if the medicines she is taking will adversely affect the child. What if there is a problem with the baby? Or what if she is not delivering a normal baby? Our whole life will be up side down; all our life dreams will be shattered in a minute. There can be huge ramifications, this thing can alter all of ours life’s as we wouldn’t have imagined in our wildest dream.

She comes back shrugs her shoulder and tells me every thing is normal. I took a breath of relieve and said that’s a good news and start my car. She tells me she wants to be dropped to this shop so she can change her shoes which she bought yesterday, and she started talking about her problem of finding a proper shoe. Next second, I started worrying about the traffic, my commute, will I be late for meeting, my project, the un-replied emails etc.

And then I suddenly realize, I just got this big huge life altering good news but I am not taking a moment to rejoice life. We don’t have time to even notice the blessings of god and feel happy about it or be thankful to god, We did not spend a single moment to appreciate life, but jumped right back into our trivial daily problems and started worrying. And then we wonder why life is not good, why there are so many worries? Why I am not happy? Why his skin has fewer wrinkles then mine?

How many times in day you miss the opportunity to be happy?

Leave a comment